P2P Purchase - How to - Edit purchase orders, add lines


Summary:

Sometimes buyers need to modify purchase order lines or prices after the PO has been created and sent to suppliers.

These actions require the following user rights, configured in Basware P2P Administration: 

 

If the buyer needs to add a new line, they can choose between two types of lines: free-text line and cost line. The differences are described below.

Cost line:

A cost line is typically used when the buyer wants to add a previously unknown related cost on the PO, such as a delivery fee. Cost lines do not require goods receiving and are not shown in goods receipt tasks for a PO.

To add a cost line, click Add cost line.

When adding a cost line, the line type is set to Cost line. Adding a new cost line increases the PO total amount. A check is made against the user's change tolerance limit. if the tolerance is exceeded and the PO approval workflow is enabled, the PO will need to be approved by an appropriate user.

The cost line will also consume the budget if budgets are in use.

Free-text line:

Free-text lines can be added if the user needs to add additional goods or services to the purchase order. Unlike cost lines, free-text lines can be received and closed.

To add a free-text line, click  > Add free-text line.

When adding a free-text line, the line type is set to Free-text line. Adding a new free-text line increases the PO total amount. A check is made against the user's change tolerance limit. if the tolerance is exceeded and the PO approval workflow is enabled, the PO will need to be approved by an appropriate user.

The free-text line will also consume the budget if budgets are in use.

After adding a line:

When a user adds a new cost line or free-text line, the new line that is created is fully empty and needs to be filled in by user so that it complies with field rules.

Once user has filled in the mandatory data and any needed approvals are done, the user can update the PO to the supplier. P2P will not allow goods receiving before the supplier has received an updated PO.

The user can also delete the added line if it was added by mistake, as long as the line status is New/Created and not sent to the supplier with the PO update.